It appears I can’t multitask and general busyness means I ignored the blog. Apologies, I’ll try to make up for it. So here’s a run down of the last month:

Running the Get Ready for Work Seminars was exhuasting, but I think successful. Over 40 people recieved training, with more than 12 careers advisors involved, and 10 employers. Feedback overall has been excellent, and reviews of the seminars are ongoing. If there’s demand, we’ll look at another one by the end of 2009. If you, or anyone you know are interested, please get in touch.

Apart from Get Ready for Work, I’ve been hatching some new plans with my colleagues so, watch this space sometime in September 🙂

The Facebook Page is now at http://www.facebook.com/getaheadforum. Much easier to direct people to, so please do 🙂

I was also down at the Union Organisation Seminar run by USI (the Union of Students in Ireland) for all students union officers in Ireland. I go to talk to them every year about the issues facing students with disabilities on campus, and to talk about what they can do/ should do. It’s always interesting to get their take on what’s happening and to discuss plans and ideas they have for the upcoming year. This year looks set to be excellent too, so keep an eye on USI Equality

AHEAD has put together a response to the proposed model for the Fund for students with disabilities in 2009/2010. I’ve linked to the response here, just for your information. If you’ve any questions, shout.

We’re also currently looking for your comments and suggestions for a charter for inclusive teaching and learning. There’s more information here, and after you’ve read this, if you’ve any thoughts, please feel free to comment or to email my colleague Lorraine at lorraine.gallagher AT ahead DOT ie

On Friday, I’m off to deliver some training for WAM in the ESB, so I’m getting to keep in touch with what WAM is up to and how its going.

Next week, I’m on holidays, but there’ll be scheduled posts to make it as if I’m still here!

