Have you ever seen a nurse in a wheelchair? Would you be concerned if they were looking after you? You immediate answer might highlight that mindsets are often closed to disability in certain arenas. It’s a hugely interesting area and I say that not just because I come from a health science background myself but because it has really made me think about how I view certain professions. Students with disabilities, particularly deaf/hearing impaired students are restricted from teaching professions and while there are no shortcuts to equality for these students, it’s great to be able to discuss the issues and move forward.

If you are a student in a health science area, I would really recommend coming to our annual conference on the 16th March. It’s absolutely free for students and you are guaranteed to come away from the day with a new perspective! You can book a place online at http://www.ahead.ie

